Skip to content

Neese, Bice advance to Republican runoff primary for 5th District

Incumbents cruise to party nominations

By Jeff Harrison
Midwest City Beacon

The picture is a little clearer for three congressional races following last week’s primary election.

Three incumbents and two challengers wrapped up their party’s nomination in the June 30 statewide primary election.

Sen. James Inhofe had no trouble in the Republican primary, winning the race with 74.05% of the vote. Inhofe, who was first elected to the U.S. Senate in 1994, currently serves as the chairman of the Armed Services Committee.

Abby Broyles ran away with the Democratic nomination for the U.S. Senate. The attorney and former journalist received 60.45% of the vote, finishing 118,715 votes ahead of the second-place finisher, Elysabeth Britt.

Other U.S. Senate candidates include Libertarian Robert Murphy and Independents Joan Farr; and A.D. Nesbit.

In Oklahoma’s 4th District, Rep. Tom Cole won the Republican nomination with 76.33% of the vote. The nine-term incumbent will face Democrat Mary Brannon and Libertarian Bob White in the general election. Brannon, who was also the Democratic nominee in 2018, sealed the party’s nomination with 63.85% of the vote. David R. Slemmons was a distant second with 19.42%.

The district is in the south-central part of the state. It contains much of the south Oklahoma City metro including Midwest City, Norman, Moore and Mustang.

In Oklahoma’s 5th District, Democratic Rep. Kendra Horn cruised to victory with 85.69% of the vote. She collected 60,168 votes to challenger Tom Guild’s 10,050. Who Horn will face in November, is uncertain.

Terry Neese and Stephanie Bice advanced to a Republican runoff primary election on Aug. 25. Neese, an entrepreneur and founder of Terry Neese Personnel Service finished first with 36.48% and 24,828 votes. Bice, a state senator, was second with 25.41% and 17,292 votes.

The district includes much of Oklahoma City, Del City, Choctaw, Nicoma Park, Harrah, Edmond, as well as Pottawatomie and Seminole counties.

The general election is Nov. 3.

Leave a Comment