Skip to content

Mid-Del basketball teams earn district honors

Midwest City’s Carl’Sheon Young was named the district MVP. Photo by Jeff Harrson

By Jeff Harrison
Midwest City Beacon

Mid-Del Schools was home to some of the best basketball teams in Class 5A this season.

The Midwest City boys capture their fifth state championship while all six high school teams advanced to the state tournament for the first time since 2014.

Local schools were also well represented in the all-district awards that were recently announced. Carl Albert was in District 5A-1, while Midwest City and Del City were both in 5A-2.

The Carl Albert boys took home two of the top individual awards. Jadyen Hopkins was named Defensive Player of the Year and Jay Price was Coach of the Year.

Brothers Quincy and Jayden Hopkins were both named to the all-district first team, while Steven Anderson was a second team selection. Ryan Reynolds, Brandon Rogers, Marcus James and Hutch Russell were honorable mentions.

Cal Furnish (Crossings Christian) was Player of the Year. El Reno’s Carter Roman Nose was Offensive Player of the Year and Kaleb Blackwolf was Newcomer of the Year.

The state champion Midwest City boys reaped the awards from District 5A-2.

Junior Carl’Sheon Young was picked as the Most Valuable Player for the district.

Junior Roy Henderson and sophomore DJ Denson were both First Team selections.

Mark Jackson was named the Newcomer of the Year in his first year with the Bombers. Junior Jarvis Nash received Defensive Player of the Year.

Torey Noel was selected as Coach of the Year after leading the Bombers to a district title in his first year as head coach.

The Del City boys had 10 players honored in the District 5A-2 awards.

Michael Graham and Desean McCarroll were both named to the First Team for the Eagles. Kentrell Thurston was named to the Second Team and all defensive team.

Jashawn McCalister, Tayvann Johnson, Ahmadre Sanders, Jaden Johnson, Mi’Shaun Graham, Quinton Edwards and Darius Washington each received honorable mention.

Carl Albert’s girls took second in the district behind state champion El Reno and returned to the state tournament for a fourth year in a row.

Essence Curry led the way in the district awards, earning Defensive Player of the Year and all-district Second Team honors.

Ausha Moore was picked to the all-district First Team. Audrey Plunkett and Curry were named to the Second Team.

Lanie Moore, Evi Mitchell, Skylar Anderson, Shelby Rusche and Jakary Brown were honorable mentions.

Midwest City’s DeYanna Douglas was the District 5A-2’s Most Valuable Player.

Coach Megan Knight earned the Coach of the Year Award after leading the Lady Bombers to a district title and undefeated district season.

Senior Sierra Martin and junior Mar’Kia Pratt were named to the all-district First Team. Saliyah Landon was a Second Team selection. Saniyah Gaddis, Ceidi Johnson and Sevyn Miller were honorable mentions for the Lady Bombers. Gaddis was also on the all-defensive team.

Del City had eight players honored in the district awards.

Sophomore Courtnie McCarroll led the way by being named to the all-district First Team. Sophomores Sacha Hunt and Reina Lewis were named to the Second Team and junior Shelby Thornton was selected to the Third Team and all defensive team.

Del City’s Akeelah Howard, Mackenzie Smithers, Arianna Brison and Malia Purifoy received honorable mention.

DeYanna Douglas tries to drive past a Booker T. Washington defender. Photo by Jay Wiggins

Leave a Comment