Skip to content

Mid-Del educator named finalist for state teacher of the year

Brian Muller smiles after being named the Mid-Del Teacher of the Year March 27 at an awards banquet. Photo by Jeff Harrison

Brian Muller, a fourth-grade teacher at Parkview Elementary, has been selected as a finalist for Oklahoma Teacher of the Year.

Muller was named the Mid-Del School District Teacher of the Year in 2023. He has been an educator in the district for 23 years. Muller is a Midwest City native. He and his wife have three children who all graduated from Del City High School.

It is the second state finalists from Mid-Del Schools in the past four years. Stephanie Terry, Del City High School, was a finalist in 2021.

State Superintendent Ryan Walters announced the list of finalists for Oklahoma Teacher of the Year on Thursday morning.

“These 10 extraordinary educators are setting high standards for teachers throughout our state,” he said in a news release. “Each of these finalists are models for exceptional performance in the classroom, and I wish them all the best throughout the selection process.”

Finalists were initially selected by their peers at their school site, then by district leadership as their district’s Teacher of the Year. The finalists will be interviewed and evaluated by a panel of Oklahomans to determine the state Teacher of the Year.

The Oklahoma Teacher of the Year will be announced in July.

Other finalists include Amanda Bowser (Broken Arrow), Jake Henderson (Woodward), Rachel Keith (Ada), Nichole Leib (Morris), Frances Millspaugh (Locust Grove), Stephanie Overby (Lawton), Laura Powell (Anadarko), Lisa Sager (Durant), Amanda Winn (Glenpool).

Leave a Comment