Skip to content

Choctaw named Conference Champions

Midwest City’s Darrell Hall named Conference Coach of the Year


By Ryan Horton
Managing Editor


Postseason honors are rolling in for eastern Oklahoma County standouts.

The Big 10 Conference recently announced its 2020 All-Conference football selections.

A handful of Yellowjackets and Bombers were selected for the Big 10 All-Conference Team, while Choctaw High School was named the Big 10 Conference Champion.

The Yellowjackets celebrate a historic trip to the Class 6A-II State Championship. (PHOTO BY LINDSAY TESIO)


Midwest City’s Darrell Hall was named Coach of the Year.

The Big 10 Conference is expected to be rebranded the Big 8 as participating schools currently include Choctaw, Enid, Midwest City, Putnam City Original, Putnam City West, Putnam City North and Ponca City. Del City, Lawton and Lawton Eisenhower previously filled out the conference.

Choctaw finished the season in the No. 2 spot for the first time in history, after taking defending state champion Bixby to a 17-14 state final. Bixby was the only team in the state to defeat Choctaw as the Yellowjackets went undefeated at home, 7-0.

Midwest City (8-3) finished in the No. 2 spot of their district and just one victory shy of a state final appearance.

The Bombers only lost to 6A-II-1 District Champion Stillwater, Class 6A-II State Champion Bixby, and neighboring rival Carl Albert, that’s looking for another Class 5A State Championship.

Midwest City went against one conference member this season in Putnam City North. The Bombers won the district matchup, 35-14.

Choctaw faced three conference members this season taking wins over Ponca City, Putnam City West and Putnam North.

Midwest City’s Darrell Hall leads the Bombers to a win. (PHOTO BY JEFF HARRISON)

All-Conference Team

Quarterback: Blake Priest, Enid.

Running backs: Jaheim Butler, Putnam West; Kristawn Friday, Midwest City; Ben Klanica, Ponca City; Johnny Villa, Enid; Seth Wisby, Putnam City.

Wide receivers: Terrill Davis, Choctaw; Maddux Mayberry, Enid; Sam McKinney, Ponca City; Andre Miles, Midwest City; Jeff Nwankwo, Putnam North, Kayhon Russell, Putnam North; Adrian Scott, Putnam City; Brian Wilson Jr., Midwest City; Wes Zeigler, Choctaw.

Tight end: Liam Wortmann, Putnam City.

Offensive linemen: Reginald Berry, Putnam West; Wesley Kapple, Putnam West; Grady Keefer, Putnam North; Colton Shorter, Midwest City; Landon Varner, Ponca City.

Defensive linemen: CJ Adams, Enid; David Bruce, Putnam North; James Godfry, Ponca City; Caden Hester, Putnam City.

Linebackers: Hunter Birmingham, Putnam North; Arthur Broiles, Midwest City; LeJaylyn Long-Jackson, Midwest City; Elijah Wilder, Choctaw; Donnie Wingate, Choctaw.

Defensive backs: Cajon Green, Putnam City; Jordan Mukes, Choctaw; Tyce Mythen, Putnam North; Chris Parker, Choctaw; Makale Smith, Midwest City; Jordan Thompson, Choctaw; Darius Washington, Putnam West; John White, Enid.

Athlete: Riley Powell, Putnam North.

Kicker/punter: Spencer Ball, Ponca City.

Leave a Comment